Kelly #101: Search for Affordable Care

Kelly's journey to get health insurance

Kelly in the Real World

Inspired by my own search for affordable health insurance in the post-Obamacare era, I have drawn my first original comic since I graduated college in 2010. From now on this continuation of “Kelly” will be about life after college, dealing with the real world. I will continue to re-release my college “Kelly” comics in between working on new comics.

First in the new release: shopping for health care after my parents’ insurance was cancelled. Hopefully not many other people my age dealt with Kelly’s uncertainties over pre-existing conditions, jobs that don’t offer benefits and user experience problems using healthcare.gov. The steps for me to get insurance were definitely frustrating, but I am glad to be safely insured a month before my 26th birthday.

Respond Away

