Kelly # 97: The Job Applicant

I think when my classmates and I started college, the outcome we expected to have when we graduated was to have multiple job offers waiting for us. But then 2008 and the Great Recession hit and my dream of having multiple offers from a variety of reputable employers in the spring of 2010 was crushed.

It probably was delusional to think I could land a creative job with only a minor in graphic design and a design internship under my belt. Perhaps the Peace Corps would have taken me if I had chosen to actually apply with them. And my roommates thought they were going to ride it out in grad school yet things were just as bad when they graduated as well.

It’s interesting to see how different this job market is from what we currently have during the Great Resignation. Hopefully 2021 and 2022 graduates have better choices for jobs than we did 12 years ago.

Another quick note, I wonder if it was problematic for me to make all of the employers be men or just what I was primarily seeing in my job search?

Respond Away