Kelly #87: Help Not Wanted

The lack of employers willing to talk to liberal art majors was a big feature of my first university job fair senior year. It’s hard for me to tell even now if that was because that’s just how things were always done or because of the fairly recent recession. Either way, as an English major, I felt incredibly left out when the schools of engineering, nursing, and business and even the human development department had representation at the job fair but the only table for Harpur College was for the economics majors. Some say the recession was the beginning of the end for liberal arts majors and I am not sure if that’s true nor whether I would have a different major if I was in college now post-recession. Perhaps students have the best chance at getting a job if they diversify and major in both something they love and something that can guarantee a job like STEM.

Respond Away